Welcome Guest - [ Login / Registration ]
Post Your Article

Skip Navigation LinksBank-Exams > Current Affairs > General Knowledge > Sports and Awards > Indian National Award List
Title : Indian National Award List
Published By : jeeva
Posted on: 24 - October - 2012
Edited on: 24 - October - 2012
Article Viewed : 313
Comments: 0
Voting : 
  0 %   
  0 %

Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian honour given for exceptional service towards advancement of Art, Literature and Science, and in recognition of Public Service of the highest order. Bharat Ratna Awards was introduced in 1954. The first awarded to Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman. The   recommendations for Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister to the President.

Padma Awards:

Padma Awards, namely,

1.Padma Vibhushan,

2.Padma Bhushan and

3.Padma Shri

These awards are given for exceptional and distinguished service in any field including service rendered by Government servants. The recommendations for Padma Awards are received from the State Governments/Union Territory Administrations, Central Ministries/Departments, Institutions of Excellence, etc. which are considered by an Awards Committee. On the basis of the recommendations of the Awards Committee, and after approval of the Home Minister, Prime Minister and President, the Padma Awards are announced on the eve of the Republic Day.

Param Vir Chakra (PVC):

Param Vir Chakra is the highest gallantry award for military. Introduced on 26th January 1950, this award may be given posthumously.

Bravery Awards:

The national awards for bravery was started in 1957 by the Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW) to recognise and honour children who have performed outstanding deeds of bravery and selfless sacrifice. Every year the ICCW confers these awards to children below 16years of age.

Gallantry Awards:

Independent India saw the introduction of awards such as

1.Param Vir Chakra,

2.Maha Vir Chakra,

3.Ashoka Chakra,

4.Shaurya Chakra etc.


* Bharat Ratna, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, Padma Shri and Param Vir Chakra are highest honour awards in order for civilian.

Leave a Reply
Your Comment / Reply :